HOMER HUMOR

Mmmmmmm.. Donut. I’m drooling. I want to –

Hey, what are you looking at? Get your own. Why are you here anyway?

I can’t hear you. (Munch munch) Oh, jelly! Woo-hoo!

Okay, okay. I’m done eating. I can’t believe all zero of you are here to read a review. Why don’t you just wait? They’ll adapt this review into a movie anyway. You silly silly person. Reading is for nerds. But if you must insist, I am going to keep typing. Oh wait a sec! There’s some jelly on my keyboard. Let me just lick that off.

The Simpsons Movie is ah, uhm, a movie about the Simpsons, a family who’s been living in my TV for years. Last year, they moved into my bigger flat screen TV. This summer, they relocated into an even bigger screen in my local movie theater. The movie is just like the TV show; the difference is that I am not watching it free anymore. No, it is not a waste of money because I did not throw my money down the garbage. Well, I tried but I missed. So, I just chucked my money at the ticket seller. I so would have hit her face if it were not for that glass barrier.

I admit that the first hour of the movie is terrible. Oh wait – that was the commercials and the endless string of trailers. The movie’s first half was actually hilarious, thanks to some clever gags. My favorites have to be when Bart skateboards across Springfield in the buff and when Homer finds a new member of the family (Spider-pig, spider-pig…). In small, contained moments like these, the movie is effortlessly creative. However, the movie’s big plot is comparatively weaker (although appropriately cartoonish). It involves a giant dome of shield enclosing the residents of Springfield. The bad guy this time is a government official, not as excellent as Montgomery Burns.

The movie has to be praised for its reliability in humor. And of all the animated movies I’ve seen, The Simpsons Movie has the best cast of voice talents (Dan Castellaneta, Julie Kavner, Nancy Cartwright, Yeardley Smith, Harrry Shearer, and Hank Azaria). But to me, the movie feels like a stretched, super-sized episode. In a good and bad way, it remained consistent. While there are no bad scenes, the movie never got better either. It stayed evenly good. Perhaps it’s inevitable to measure it up to South Park: Bigger, Longer, and Uncut, another animated movie from TV. That movie audaciously (and musically) took more risks. By comparison, The Simpsons Movie is safe and tame. It lacks edges like a donut. Mmmmmmm.. Donut.

Grade: B+

FEATURING THE VOICES OF
Dan Castellaneta, Julie Kavner, Nancy Cartwright, Yeardley Smith, Harrry Shearer, and Hank Azaria
Screenplay by
Matt Groening, Sam Simon, James L. Brooks, Al Jean, Ian Maxtone-Graham, George Meyer, David Mirkin, Mike Reiss, Mike Scully, Matt Selman, John Swartzwelder, and Jon Vitti
Directed by
David Silverman
Rated PG-13 irreverent humor throughout
