Waiting on the World to Change

Procrastination. It’s one of my worse habits. I watched this documentary two weeks ago and I’m just posting about it now. I should’ve been more eager to write about this, since I really have no plot to describe. “An Inconvenient Truth” is simply a presentation about global warming by former Vice President Al Gore.

There’s nothing really surprising about its content. More or less, what it discloses is not especially new (the melting of polar caps, thinning out of ozone layer, etc.) But even so, I still needed to see it for motivation. Environmental issues are easy to put aside. As the documentary postulates, humans don’t tend to react too quickly to avert natural disasters. We’re just waiting for that huge catastrophe to wake us up and dumbly ask ourselves why we didn’t do any acts of prevention. Of course, the warnings have been there all along. We just tend to ignore them. In other words, procrastinate.

“An Inconvenient Truth” also addresses the belief of global warming as a hoax. I pray that most people don’t believe this. Hearing something like this makes me think that we don’t deserve to be in the 21st century. Maybe we’ve already peaked as a human race and by next century, we’ll go back to believing that the Earth is flat. (Oh wait, there’d be no Earth by then, if humans continue to take this planet for granted). To tell the truth, I don’t really care if “An Inconvenient Truth” has been tweaked or embellished. Its main goal is to stimulate us to do something. Those who point out the exaggeration and attack the documentary would entirely miss the point. I mean, what is so bad in making our planet a better place to live in? Seriously. In the long run, it’s beneficial to all. Of course, I can understand the mentality of some adults. They’ll expire soon anyway, so why not expire with the world? If the young generation is indifferent and value more trivial things, then what’s the point. Since they flock to blockbuster films or play video games where hell breaks loose, maybe it’s about time they experience the real thing firsthand. So, come on, my peeps, my peers, indifference is one of the worst traits to have.

As a documentary, “An Inconvenient Truth” is fairly edited and presented well. I’m surprised how Al Gore came across. While he might have lost his chance to be a president, he looks more heroic than the current commander-in-chief. (Well, okay anybody can easily look more heroic next to Bush). Gore has taken up the role as a crusader for the environment. He’s literally saving the world; he couldn’t sound less of a superhero. Good for him. Good for us. (Save cheerleader Al Gore, save the world?) There’s one thing that bugs me though. It seems like I didn’t need to pay to see this movie. Do some of the proceeds actually go towards reversing global warming or do they go towards Al Gore’s campaign funds (if he’s running for office)? It seems like the DVD should be shown to as many people as possible, free of charge. So what do you say, “An Inconvenient Truth”? Save me some money and I’d help you save the world? Thriftiness is one of my best/worst traits.

Grade: B+

STARRING
Al Gore
Directed by
Davis Guggenheim
Rated PG for mild thematic elements
