Attachment of Motor Vehicles

Finally – a real car toon. Pixar’s latest feature is about Lightning McQueen (voiced by Owen Wilson), a phenom racecar competing for the prestigious Piston Cup. On his way to the big race, he gets sidetracked and ends up in the nearly abandoned town of Radiator Springs. He has accidentally ruined the town’s roads and he’s been ordered to fix the streets before he can skedaddle. Hotshot that he is, Lightning thinks he’s above these simple town cars. But as he grows attach to them, the racecar adjusts to low ego emissions. This is so much better for the moral environment.

Despite another successful project for Pixar, I don’t think “Cars” ranks one of its best. The first time I watched it, I fell asleep. Yes, I was sleepy at the time, but great movies have always kept me awake no matter how heavy my eyelids were. When I resumed the movie the next day, I thought it was pretty enjoyable. My favorite is a funny tow truck character named “Mater” (voiced by Larry the Cable Guy). He has got to be one of the most memorable Pixar characters ever. However, the rest of car characters aren’t even close to be interesting or entertaining as Mater. But I guess, in a movie that promotes teamwork and targets egocentrism as a road kill, I shouldn’t single out a car. The film is just fine with its endearing ensemble.

However, I do have one problem with the picture. Let’s see – “Toy Story” had Andy. “A Bug’s Life” had Dot. “Monsters, Inc.” had Boo. Nemo is missing in “Finding Nemo” and super kids Dash and Violet were in “The Incredibles.” I think what is sorely missing in “Cars” is the lack of an accessible point of view for kids. If these characters were people, instead of animated cars, the movie will be less appealing to children. I’ve read somewhere that “Cars” has the basic plot of “Doc Hollywood,” a Michael J. Fox movie unseen by me. In terms of plot and story concept, “Cars” is not that intriguing or as smart as “The Incredibles,” “Monsters, Inc.,” or “Toy Story.” But since this is assembled in Pixar, “Cars” is equipped with great animation, beloved characters, and even a twinge of nostalgia. It’s certainly no rusty and sputtering jalopy. Honk if you love “Cars.”

Grade: B+

447478.jpg Featuring the voices of
Owen Wilson, Larry the Cable Guy, Bonnie Hunt, Paul Newman, Cheech Marin, George Carlin, Tony Shaloub, Michael Keaton, and John Ratzenberger
Screenplay by
Dan Fogelman
John Lasseter
Joe Ranft
Kiel Murray
Phil Lorin
Jorgen Klubien
Directed by
John Lasseter
Rated G
