You Can’t Handle the Bluths!

To the (awesome/ imaginary) people who (generously/ accidentally) skim through this blog, I’d egg you on to watch “Arrested Development,” which starts its season premiere this Monday on FOX at 8 PM. It’s a smart-ass comedy about that loaded and full-of-themselves Bluth family. They live in Orange County (The OC as the kids say nowadays) and not surprisingly dysfunctional (or crazeeee as the kids who can’t spell say these days). What better way to spend thirty minutes than to see screwed up wealthy people serve your entertainment needs, huh? And holy pepperoni, they deliver with perfect comic timing, unlike some slow competition from other laugh factories.

You don’t have to take my word for it. The Emmys awarded its debut season with “Outstanding Comedy Series” last year. That season featured some of the funniest story plots I’ve seen on TV: a Latina girlfriend thought to be in love with “Hermano,” a father teaching his kids valuable lessons with the help of a one-armed man, a mother’s betrayal by knocking his son unconscious, a strange case of a never-nude, a dishonest and blind prosecutor, and an adopted Korean kid named “Annyong” (…Annyong!). “Arrested Development” also boasts of a talented ensemble, headed by the nicely frustrated Jason Bateman. He plays Michael, the normal Bluth son who’s trying to keep his unmanageable family out of trouble. My favorites among the cast are: Michael Cera as Michael’s awkward son, Tony Hale as Buster (the grown mama’s boy), Will Arnett as the incompetent older brother, and Jessica Walters as the matriarch who has booze for blood.

Despite the critical raves, an Emmy win, and cult status, “Arrested Development” has trouble developing an audience since its inception. I didn’t watch it from the beginning either, but I got hooked on it in the middle of its second season. (I hear the third season is quite promising with Oscar winner Charlize Theron dropping by). Let’s hope there are more people like me that would jump in on the fun, and end its uhm — arrested development. This series deserves an awesome future, not an imaginary one.

Here’s a sampling of dialogue from the first season:

Buster: We’re excavating a pterodactyl.
[plainly shows a human skull; Buster accidentally hits and breaks it with a hammer]
Buster: That was 90% gravity.

Lindsay: Michael, if this is a lecture on how we’re all supposed to whatever and blah-blah-blah, well, you can save it, because we all know it by heart.

Gob: My gut is telling me no… but my gut is also very hungry.

Lucille Bluth: I’ll be in the hospital bar.
Michael Bluth: Uhh, you know, there isn’t a hospital bar, mother.
Lucille Bluth: Well, this is why people hate hospitals.

Michael: [about George Michael’s test] A-?
George Michael: Are you proud of me?
Michael: Very proud… minus.

Gob: Zero hour, Michael. It’s the end of the line. I’m the firstborn. I’m sick of playing second fiddle. I’m always third in line for everything. I’m tired of finishing fourth. Being the fifth wheel. There are six things I’m mad about, and I’m taking over.

Grade: A

